El Pueblo de Nuestra Senora la Reina de los Angeles de Porciuncula

That’s the full name of Los Angeles, btw.

I’ve lived here for a year and a half now, and have worked here for 2 ½ years, so it’s about time I say something, anything, about L.A. This occurred to me while eating Jamaican food at an authentic little Jamaican restaurant, with a Jamaican friend of mine, just down the street a ways from my house, on my lunch break.

 

I LOVE the cultural diversity. My work is the most diverse environment I have ever been in. I feel like I have been deprived of an incredibly enjoyable cultural experience up until now. The only way I could get any more soaked in other cultures is to actually live in another country.

I like that there are a huge amount of art museums I can go visit within a twenty minute drive from my house.

In fact, downtown L.A. is less than twenty minutes from my house. I would love to learn to grocery shop there. That would take a while, but it would be worth it.

Believe it or not, I love that I have a view of airplanes getting ready to land, from my bedroom window.

My favorite tea house is twenty minutes away, at the most.

I love the beach at Rancho Palos Verdes.

It’s still only an hour north of my beloved siblings.

It’s an hour closer to the bay area than I was living before. I like that, especially since Asia is moving there.

I can meet up with Sandra when she comes into town to do an audition or a gig.

Venice Beach is right here.

The garment district: twenty minutes away.

The shopping is insane.

Steph and Aimee live here too.

There’s a subway station right down the street that takes you to downtown L.A., Hollywood, Pasadena, and the Valley.

I probably wouldn’t have found out how much I love Korean food, had it not been for simultaneously living with two Koreans, and working with a handful of Koreans.

There is a huge amount of stimulation for any artistic person here.

That’s not to say that I’m in love with L.A., or that I plan on being here forever. It’s just that I was in OC for fifteen years, and before that, Joshua Tree for seventeen years. So I’m glad I get to experience a new place for a while. If Asia ends up staying in the Bay Area, I will seriously consider moving there.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m organizing my beach gear for my next trip to Orange County.

One thought on “El Pueblo de Nuestra Senora la Reina de los Angeles de Porciuncula

  1. aimee says:

    Corrina ~ I love knowing that you are in L.A. only miles from me, even though we don’t see each other all that often ~ it’s still nice to know you’re here. You hit on great points in L.A. I love it here; so much to do and see…

Leave a Reply

