A 2hr 45min long movie worth seeing

I finally saw “Into The Wild”. I waited until it came to a theater closer to me. It’s an amazing movie. They took the original story and reshaped it in a way that worked well for a screenplay, sticking to the original framework of the true story and to Jon Krakauer’s book. It very much explores the extremes, such as that of the human spirit, travel, emotional independence and the great outdoors. “Tramping”, as the main character would call it. I loved that book so much, and I think the movie was even better. And that’s coming from a huge Krakauer fan, so there you go. It reminded me a little of “My Side Of The Mountain”. I fell in love with that story, too, as a kid. Both stories question conventional living and dependence on people, money, and structure. Neither story acknowledges that you have to be male to be able to go off on these odysseys. Because you do. If a girl did it, it would just be considered crazy and dangerous. It would be crazy and dangerous. But they could at least acknowledge that, in the whole, “why don’t people stop conforming” thing. Nobody does. Those adventures are just for boys and the Calamity Janes of the world. But I’m not bitter or anything. I get to have periods and have to pee sitting down. Wait…

Anyway, the cinematography is great too. I just read an article about Sean Penn and his desire to stick to the real locations as much as possible, and that played a huge part in the movie. I couldn’t imagine it done any other way. I think they used the real bus, that the character dwelled in in Alaska. It was well cast: Emile Hirsch really poured his guts into it. You can see how the people around Chris McCandless become so fond of him, and how he takes on solitude with the necessary enthusiasm and vulnerability, and how that turned into a quest of both an internal and external nature. They portrayed his family’s story, too, with a sympathy and grace that made me finally shed a tear, in the very end, and without at all feeling like I’d just watched a sad movie.

I will rarely gush about movies like this.

2 thoughts on “A 2hr 45min long movie worth seeing

  1. […] clokeei wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI loved that book so much, and I think the movie was even better. And that’s coming from a huge Krakauer fan, so there you go. It reminded me a little of “My Side Of The Mountain”. I fell in love with that story, too, as a kid. … […]

  2. Aimee says:

    I agree ~ it was a great movie. Plus the kid who played Chris is adorable!

Leave a Reply

