This, my ill, can be treated with a cup of CoCo

I was paying for groceries today at Vons, and I donated $5 to their breast cancer fundraiser.  I never donate.  And they have this little piece of pink paper that has a line on it, and I thought it was to put my name, and she handed me the pink pen and showed me that you write the person whose name the donation is in honor of.  I took the pen, but I said, “I don’t know anyone”.  So she said “oh!  Well you can just write ‘to all women’ then”.  So I wrote “WOMEN”.  Then I thought about all the women that I know, and how, statistically, one of them is going to get breast cancer.  By the time I got to my car, I was wiping tears off of my eyes and my lips were quivering.
I think I have PMS.

One thought on “This, my ill, can be treated with a cup of CoCo

  1. Ann M. says:

    Sometimes it is not about who you know, but who you never knew. Your grandmother would have added to your life in endless ways. And she would have loved knowing you. And that is the reality of cancer. Sorry to make this sad comment, but it is with me everyday.

Leave a Reply

