Ahh, the next generation

Yesterday I got punched in the back by a five year old.  It rocked my sense of reality, and led to a fitful night sleep full of dreams in which everyone’s age was all scrambled up.  And you know what?  In my lifetime, this is at least the tenth time this has happened to me.  You’d think I would stop rolling with the five year olds, but they’re just so cute and funny (but strong).

I was at my friend’s house for her one year-old’s birthday party/ baptism celebration.  She has a huge, wonderful traditional Mexican family, and the party went well into the night.  All for a one-year old.   There was a DJ, a Pinata, a bouncy castle, tons of food, three tables were fully loaded with presents, and her cul-de-sac was full of cars, double and triple parked all the way down the street.  I was the only white person there, but that happens to me all the time.  I don’t usually get roughed up for it.   The one who punched me was one of eight million cousins of the baby. I think he was mad because I was trying to talk to him about punching people.  He looked me very seriously in the face and then said, “you’re not my dad! My dad’s a firefighter!”  He forgot the bond we’d forged when his angry brother was chasing him around the bouncy castle, and I finally reached out and he leapt into my arms and I held him high in the air so that only his legs could, and did, get punched.  While he was perched victoriously on my shoulder, he cheered and gave his brother the finger, and then spit on him.  His brother started to spit on both of us, and then my little five year old friend lost his shoulder privileges.

By early evening, he’d punched five adults and made both of his older brothers cry.  I finally made a citizens arrest in the form of telling his mommy, and he got pulled out of the action for a long while.  He’s a very entertaining kid, and never stops smiling or yelling funny things.  I’m very curious to see how his life turns out.  I still think he’s adorable.

In the absence of permission from his parents to post his photo, I’ll just post this pic of a cute little hamster holding a gun.

 

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

photo peeled off of Janae’s myspace, via her comments section.

6 thoughts on “Ahh, the next generation

  1. darlene says:

    That was very entertaining, Corrina!

  2. Danielle says:

    aww how cute!!

  3. cheyenne says:

    well all that i can say is that i would want one of the mand get it a little gun just like that

  4. sexii says:

    so cute lol

  5. N!ghtmare says:

    Damn it looks so inoccent but it looks badass at the same time

  6. alex says:

    hey what a weird photo

Leave a Reply

