Float on

I just had a very boring week.  It was so boring, it could win awards for how boring it was.  It outdid itself.  I had a lot of insomnia, which I don’t actually mind.  What I do mind is how it makes me have to sleep in, and then I go to work much later than I wanted to.  Then I come home and try it again: go to bed early so I can get up early.

See, I usually fall right to sleep when I stick a movie on, or a TV show, on my laptop.  It puts me right to sleep and I love it.  Then it ends, and the computer screen goes black after ten minutes or so, and I’m able to stay asleep without the interruption I might otherwise get from falling asleep in front of a TV.   Lately I haven’t been falling asleep very easily, and it doesn’t bother me at all because I can just lay there happily watching TV, or a movie.  I’m sure TV is not the best way to put oneself to sleep, but I come from a family of insomniacs, and I’d rather just accept it as a part of life, rather than struggle with it.   I have seen 3 a.m. way more times than I’d ever care to count.  I hate lying there staring at the darkness with only my thoughts.  It’s fine for the first half hour, but then it gets boring.

On the up side, in an effort to keep myself from getting too bored, I dialed myself into the free podcast thing on i-tunes.  I am now subscribed to like 5 different podcasts, including spanish lessons, A Prairie Home Companion, This American Life, Hip Tranquil Chick, and James Lilek’s “The Diner”.  A Prairie Home Companion is my favorite, because nobody in the world tells a story like Garrison Keillor tells a story.

Leave a Reply

