What Would Barbie Do?

I never had that moment when I first met Christyne where I knew that she and I would be friends. In fact, it was quite the opposite. From my first impression of her, I thought she was materialistic and maybe even pretentious. Okay yeah, pretentious. We had a good friend in common, a smoking hot girl named Michelle, and we all ended up going to dinner together for Michelle’s birthday. Then the three of us went to dinner together for my birthday, and later, Christyne’s. Christyne knew we’d be friends when she came to my apartment and I had a bunch of art projects going on. I knew when a co-worker of ours was getting upset one day and I saw how compassionate she was with her. In the twelve or so years since, we’ve had a million conversations about everything from human psychology to poop, and everything in the world in between. She’s hugged me while I was crying, and let me keep crying until I had it all out, even though that took a while. She’s stayed up with me into the wee hours of the morning, listening and talking me through whatever I was going through, and whenever we sleep in the same bed, we talk until one of us drifts off to sleep. She’s really very down to earth and grounded. Her dad seems to be the same way, and it’s immediately evident that he’s the one who did the majority of parenting with her, as she was growing up. She approaches emotional things with the centered-ness you’d expect from an emotionally mature man. You just would not get any of this from the first impression. Even now, knowing her so well, it throws me off when she comes walking up in heels and a Cruella Deville-style jacket, with her black and red hair always styled and her giant sunglasses on and a matching purse hanging from her arm. Her head is held high in the air, and she’s usually strutting along smoking Sherman’s MCD’s, a rather gourmet cigarette.

Photobucket

She’s also a Virgo, as I think I’ve mentioned in previous posts. I don’t know how typical her behavior is of Virgo females, except for the super clean, organized apartment. But she goes to TOWN when she decorates. So she fell in love with this couch recently, a 300 lb vintage couch from the 1920’s. She had it reupholstered, and went to put it in her apartment, and discovered that it was not going to fit through any of the doorways. She was devastated for a few hours after making this discovery.  We discussed the possibility of removing her front window and having it put into her second floor apartment with a crane, but removing the window means having to bring it up to code it with brand new, tempered glass.  She then made a few phone calls and threw some money at the situation, and well, today they finally came and made the couch thing happen:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

