The files are IN the computer…

I was getting settled into my new place yesterday and my friend A.J. was over visiting me during my window where I’m supposed to stay at home and wait for the internet company. So the nice internet guy arrives and spends an hour or so in and out of the apartment, plugging things in, sitting on the floor with his laptop, my laptop, etc., and he finally concludes that even though I’m not yet online, he has done his part. He explains to me that he got all the equipment into place and the modem is hooked up to the internet, but my computer isn’t recognizing the equipment, and then he says a bunch more technical stuff, and hands me the paperwork to sign out. I looked at him and then I looked at A.J., and a thought bubble appeared over my head, only the thought bubble didn’t have any words in it, it just had a monkey scratching under its arm. A.J. gave me this “G’head” look, and so I ventured bravely forward and signed off. Because I know A.J.

Anyway, long story short, A.J. fixed the problem. I couldn’t have asked for a better combination of circumstances, because he knows his way around computers like nobody’s business. I got ridiculously lucky. He made internet happen, while I stood back and watched in awe like Zoolander.

So I spend half a day feeling like I was all dialed in with all of my utilities, and then my mobile phone stopped working. If you’re trying to get a hold of me either by text or by calling me, I’m out of commission, and it’s e-mail only for a couple of days.

One thought on “The files are IN the computer…

  1. Mike says:

    Isn’t technology great when it works, its tech support that can be a real challenge.

Leave a Reply

