My Belmont Shores, my Tuscan Sun

I made a fresh tomato sauce yesterday with just the basics: tomatoes, basil, garlic, olive, salt and pepper. It was delicious, and filled my kitchen with wonderful aromas while I chopped up the ingredients and prepared the pasta. This, this was what I had in mind in getting this place, and this was what made me swoon at the sight of the roomy, sunny kitchen it held. On Sunday I made crepes for breakfast, and later on I made Eggs Benedict for Christyne and I. Later still, I baked a cake, because I just couldn’t stop. Today after work I lazed out and watched a cooking show online where they ice fished and drank vodka, while I drifted in and out of sleep, looking like I’d lost consciousness while in the middle of a fistfight with my pillows. I’m having a lazy afternoon.

Despite the fact that the cat is shedding, I am enjoying the place so much. We take leisurely naps with the sunlight streaming onto the bed in the afternoons, and did I mention all the cooking? Tomorrow evening I’m going to walk to a neighborhood bar that a friend of mine works at, and meet up with another couple of friends, and take in the warm seaside air on the way there and back. I don’t have to worry about how I’ll get back if I decide to have a cocktail. There’s also a rollerblading path along the ocean for the next time I have energy, and of course there’s a Starbucks within walking distance, but that’s not uncommon in North America.

3 thoughts on “My Belmont Shores, my Tuscan Sun

  1. Mike says:

    Eggs Benedict Story

    One morning while babysitting my granddaughter Shellbee, she must have been 5 or 6 at the time; we went to my favor restaurant in Laguna Beach for breakfast. She ordered her usual French Toast and I had Eggs Benedict, about 3 minutes into it after eyeing my order she asked if she could try it. So I pushed the plate her way and she cut a little piece and gave it a taste. Well with that little taste I created a monster; I did not get my Eggs Benedict back that morning. After that whenever we went out to eat she would always order whatever I got, she developed quite a taste for scallops, ahi, Mongolian, bananas foster, etc. A quick trip to Dennys or McDonalds was out of the question after that.

  2. bootsie says:

    Glad to hear you loving your new apt so much. Miss you!

  3. Mike says:

    Do you still have your ferret ?

Leave a Reply

