And there was much rejoicing, all over cyberspace

Robert Soloway was sentenced to 47 months in prison (PRISON!) for flooding people’s e-mails accounts with spam. I’m so glad he got what he deserved, and that an example will be set for other potential or current spammers. Although lately the spam I get in my work e-mail is so heavily laden with Engrish that it’s just plain funny. I want to print it and collage it, but it’s full of graphic sex references so I can’t do that, at least not at work. I have enough trouble with just keeping my foul language to a minimum. The worst part of spam invasions at its peak was looking down at my then Jr High-aged niece’s hotmail account and seeing subject lines that talked about huge cocks. That really bothered me, and the more I thought about it, the more it bothered me. She will never be sexually harassed as badly as she was by spammers. At least I hope not. But at least she has an innate ability to ignore people when they’re being idiots. She doesn’t get her buttons pushed nearly as easily as I do.

On a related note, I was recently Googling Roger Ebert to check out pictures of him post jaw surgery, which he is apparently very open about (“We hide illness too much, and we should be talking about it” -I agree). It’s not like I did any in-depth research, it’s all on his Wiki page. But I found an anti-spam oath that he wrote, called the Boulder Pledge. Basically, it is a pledge directed at not encouraging spammers:

“Under no circumstances will I ever purchase anything offered to me as the result of an unsolicited e-mail message. Nor will I forward chain letters, petitions, mass mailings, or virus warnings to large numbers of others. This is my contribution to the survival of the online community”

I kind of want to get his prison address and mail him tons of offers for online pharmacies and a college degree in 2 weeks.

One thought on “And there was much rejoicing, all over cyberspace

  1. aj says:

    Considering he’s in *prison* now, I say we print out and mail him a bunch of spam offering to make his new boyfriend’s cock bigger.

    It’s only fair. 😉

Leave a Reply

