My cache

Since my apartment didn’t come with a garage and has almost no storage, I had to do a lot of thinking ahead with my space planning. I was surprised at how much I was able to get in and shove out of my sight, but I’ve been planning to reorganize what little space I do have and see if I can get better use of it. I’ve always wanted to have some kind of Earthquake preparedness kit, and have been eyeing an area of my living room that I can use for that. Up until yesterday it had been so long since there’s been an earthquake in California that whenever I would bring up the idea of earthquake preparedness, people would look at me like I was crazy. It’s not like I’m miss over-organized or anything. I just know how bummed I’d be if I found myself stuck at home without any food, water or electricity. I have to at least set aside some extra water, and while I’m at that, I might as well set aside some other supplies. So yesterday at the store I realized I could at least buy some of the stuff I’d need, and just set it aside until I can make space for it. I picked up 2 gallons of water, some evap milk, some canned goods, some applesauce (mmm), and some things I could make with my camping stove and evap milk. I spent the whole shopping trip feeling like I was walking a very fine line between being overboard and being naively under-prepared. I mean, I have to keep in mind that I’ll have to turn over my kit every 6 months, so I have to get things that I would consume, but not things that I would be tempted to consume. You know, things like canned fruit cocktail, canned soup, potatoes au gratin in a box. I would not object to packing those into my lunch in 6 months. When I got home I looked up earthquake safety and got this interesting video on CNN. I also realized that with my complete cache of camping equipment, all I really need to do is keep my pantry more full. They say to set aside enough for three days, and if you look at it the way you’d look at camping, it’s easy. 3 breakfasts, 3 lunches, 3 dinners, and 3 days worth of snack food. And make it comfy snack food, because you might be a little stressed out. Mmm. EZ Cheese.

In reality, I will probably be with Tim at the bar/restaurant that he invested in last year and we’ll be living large off of that pantry.

2 thoughts on “My cache

  1. Mike says:

    I run a preparedness store and I really like to recommend 3 day meal kits. My wife and I gave these a taste test before we started carrying the product line and they actually very edible (pretty tasty too).

    I usually recommend a kit like the one at the link below for three reasons –

    – it’s self contained. Take it with you if needed, no gathering cans and bulky boxes.
    – it’s light since the meals are dehydrated, they rehydrate with a cup of hot water in about five minutes
    – no need worry about rotating packaged foods into your regular routine.

    http://www.cacheoutfitters.com/Mountain_House_72_Hour_Emergency_Meal_Kit_p/1110150-mh.htm

  2. aj says:

    I’ve got 75 pounds (yes, seventy five) of rice here, in addition to dehydrated meals for about 5 days and about a dozen MREs (military field food rations, severly high in calories, by design), a load of water, a spare gas can, and 500+ rounds of ammunition. If infrastructure here fails and remains in a down state for an extended period, I’msomewhat concerned about societal breakdown. If that occurs, all the above and then some go in the Jeep, and me and her get the heck out of Dodge. 🙂 You know I’m not a nutjob survivalist, but I *do* fully intend to make sure my existence is perpetuated, and not by accident 🙂

    The shaker hit about 9 miles from my house… things were visibly swimming. I wasn’t in shock, and the walls weren’t buckling or anything, but a few items did come off shelves. It was pretty gnarly. Look at it this way… Katrina devestated NOLA and they knew it was coming and had advance notice; a hurricane didn’t just land on their porch overnight. In CA, we don’t get warning. We don’t know when, and we don’t know how bad it’ll be when (not if) it hits. You can’t ever say someone is *too* prepared here.

Leave a Reply

