Cabo pics

The ocean is unfairly warm and beautiful down in Cabo, unlike our Alaskan water off of California. The Pacific meets the Sea Of Cortez in a stark contrast of calm versus rough waters, right at the famous arch. Just a couple of hundred feet to the north on the Pacific side is the hotel where Tim and I stayed. The beach there is inviting and blue with turquoise water skirting the sand, but signs everywhere warn you not to swim there, lest you get sucked in to the undertow. I’m also glad I am not into boat fishing, because people endure an amazing amount of rocky water just to try to catch some fish offshore there, on the Pacific side.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We heeded the warnings and stuck to beach activities on the bay. The front door of our hotel room had a panoramic view of Cabo’s harbor, the city itself, and beyond, while the balcony had a nice view of the Pacific and the beach. The timeshare salespeople started in on us as soon as we got there, and we had to tear our airplane weary selves away from them so we could get to our room and rest. Our friend Billy took us to a nice restaurant in town whose name translates as “Trailer Park”. They offer a variety of seafood and an intoxicating atmosphere with their patio full of trees and twinkly lights. Their high-end prices do not reflect the low-end reference in their name. I felt like the guests of honor even though everyone was treated the same. They’re just so nice. We even let the band stand at our table and play for us and it just added to the atmosphere. Usually I would be trying to avoid that at all costs.

Tim and I got to spend as much time as we wanted photographing everything around us. Lately people have been complaining about our paparazzi ways, and then when we leave the cameras at home, they ask us why we didn’t bring them. Which is it, people? Me, I’d love to have somebody follow me around with a camera.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Anyway, Billy never complained and let us take pics of him DJ’ing, swimming, and enjoying Cabo with us.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We spent Saturday at the Hotel that he was spinning at, and while Billy treated everybody to some great music, Tim and I were on the sand getting swarmed by salespeople. I felt like I was on hidden camera, because the approaches of the vendors was getting more frequent by the minute, and I felt a fight or flight urge coming on. And by “fight” I mean start trying to get them to buy things from me, like my towel or my boyfriend.

Photobucket

I politely declined about seventy or eighty times while still maintaining as much politeness as I could-they’re just doing their job- and I splashed around in the calm clear water of the beach in front of the ME Hotel. The beach there was filled with American tourists, and their naivety was making me blush. The drunken bachelor party with sunburnt backs was making me cringe. The beach was gorgeous, though, and I was content to just walk around taking pictures. I saw this girl selling trinkets that had on a full white outfit, including a white towel over her head. I imagined that she was on the run, trying to escape a past that didn’t want her and that she didn’t want, and was supporting herself in Cabo for a while, during which she would get her bearings and then head on to someplace like Brazil. She lived in hiding lest her family found her and dragged her back home. I get caught up in my fantasies and I chose to put a picture of her on the internet that hid her face, so she could continue in hiding.

Photobucket

Tim rented a jet ski and I tried to join him for a while, but even that part of the ocean was too rough for me. The guys that rented the jet ski to us were giggling as I staggered up and handed back my life-jacket, with the whole world blurring and spinning around me. I spent the rest of the afternoon resting in a quiet spot by the resort’s upper pool. Billy stopped by and checked on me which was nice because if I’d needed anything, I would have been helpless to do anything about it. Tim also rescued me from a bad sunburn by spraying me down with SPF 30 while I was laying on my stomach, half asleep.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

On Sunday, we went to Playa Chileno, a beach that’s famous for it’s gorgeous snorkeling (I posted about that from Cabo).

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

