I’m so high on health food right now

Have you been to Farmer’s Market lately? It’s great anyway, but the fruit I got yesterday was unbelievable. I went there specifically to buy eggs. I keep thinking about chickens lately and have had a strong desire to support places that treat them more humanely than places that mass produce. It means enough to me that I’d rather go out of my way to get my eggs, whenever I can. They also sell coffee 🙂
_mg_9393
My massively efficient mini food bin: walnuts, almonds, baker’s sugar, more almonds. My espresso maker is to the right, and that’s a jar of brown rice on top of the food bins, because… fuck yeah.
Anyhowww, I also got strawberries, oranges, lemons, and grapefruit. I did not know oranges could be so good.
I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how food-centric humans used to be, in comparison to how we are now. Yeah, I read my “Little House” books, and my “Caddie Woodlawns” and that quaint “Farmer Boy” book. I know it was out of necessity, but there’s a lot to be said for spending time with your food, planning out meals and spending parts of the day or week involved with food prep. My friend Ang is great at it. She’s always cooking or has some prep thing going on in her kitchen. And come to think of it, it was always that way when I’d visit her back when she lived with her parents. I got caught up way early on with meal convenience. I go on kicks where I get into cooking, but I still naturally fall back on convenience. I was listening to a podcast a while back with Paul Roberts, the author of “The End Of Food“, and he raised some pretty good points about how we think we don’t have time for cooking, yet we find hours to spend watching TV. He’s obviously spying on me and now I feel creepy, but he raises a good point. I think of good cooking/ healthy eating, or at least the eating of food with fresh ingredients, as something of a novelty, rather than as an important part of my every day life. And it’s hard not to. Meal planning is work. Shopping along the walls of the grocery store instead of in the aisles? That requires some planning ahead, and some note-taking while in front of our cook books. It’s a gradual transition, and one that will require a constant process of talking myself back onto the right track. Today, for example, I practiced being food-centric by passing out in front of the computer after eating celery with almond butter and raisins. Okay, during. I have almond butter in my hair. And that is a complete misinterpretation of the words ‘food-centric’. The point is, it took some effort. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some eggs to make a meal around and a bib to put on.

One thought on “I’m so high on health food right now

  1. Janae says:

    Where did you get your food bin thing? I’ve been hunting for the perfect one for my kitchen…

Leave a Reply

